• Bethany Carson

1999 Annual Meeting

The annual meeting of the Chess Journalists of America was held at the Sands Regency in Reno, Nevada during the U. S. Open Championship. Following are the minutes of that meeting, held on August 11, 1999, as printed in The Chess Journalist, Vol. XXVIII, No. 3, Consecutive No. 93, September 1999.

Minutes of 1999 Annual Meeting of CJA August 11, 1999

The meeting was called to order by President Sylvester Robes at 3:15 p.m. Present were Selby Anderson, Frisco del Rosario, James Eade, GM Larry Evans, Randy Hough, Jim Jirousek, Glenn Petersen, Ira Lee Riddle, Peter Sherwood, Helen Warren and Jim Warren.

The minutes were accepted as read.

Nominations were accepted for the position of Editor. Interim editor John Hillery and Larry Parr were nominated. However, it was noted that Mr. Parr had not expressed interest in the position and now resides in Malaysia. John Hillery was confirmed as Editor.

Nominations were accepted for officers. Randy Hough was reelected as Secretary-Treasurer over Ira Lee Riddle. Selby Anderson was elected Vice-President by acclamation. Peter Tamburro was elected President by acclamation.

The Treasurer reported a current cash balance of $3,889.16. He noted that obligations remain to long-term members, and that the editor now receives a nominal fee. He further noted that current membership remains under 100, and that he did not consider this satisfactory.

A discussion occurred concerning the exchange of material among magazines. It was noted that in general permission must be requested for such use.

The list of CJA Awards winners was announced. The members voted to add a category of Best Internet Contribution to next year's awards.

A discussion occurred on the question of payment for contributions to amateur publications. It was noted that payment need not be in cash, but could be made in kind (free ads, tournament entries, etc.).

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Respectfuly submitted, Randy Hough Secretary-Treasurer

1 view