The Eade Foundation, which aims to “enhance chess literacy and chess excellence”, accepts essays applying for its annual Arthur Award through Jan. 30, 2021.

    According to The Eade Foundation, the $1,000 Arthur Award “recognizes players who strive for chess excellence and [work] towards goals consistent with the Eade Foundation’s mission”, which it describes as “building chess communities through chess for those who cannot otherwise easily access the chess community.”

    The Arthur Award — named for Arthur Eade, father of Foundation director Jim — is given to the author of an essay including “evidence of the chess excellence already obtained by the potential recipient, how the award will be used to obtain further chess excellence, and how that chess excellence will be used to further the [foundation’s] mission.”

    2020 Arthur Award winner Abhimanyu Mishra — the youngest IM ever — proposed to launch a club in his school, while working short-term toward a grandmaster title, and in the long haul “to help kids/adults develop the awesome hobby of playing [chess].”

Diagram: Mishra-Zherebukh, 2019 US Masters, White to play.