2021 Awards List



Top Three Categories (Open to print or online)

Chess Journalist of the Year

Best Story of the Year

Best Column

Best Chess Book

Best Book – Instruction

Best Book – Other

Best Self-Published Book

Best Visual Arts

Best Photojournalism Article

Best Single Chess Photo

Best Art

Best Single Chess Magazine Cover

Best Cartoon

Best Print Articles (Open only to publications)

Best Regular Newspaper Column

Best Single Article of Local Interest

Best Overall Magazine

Best Feature Article

Best Interview

Best Tournament Report – National / International

Best Tournament Report – State / Local

Best Club Newsletter

Best Instructive Lesson

Best Review

Best Analysis

Best Historical Article

Best Humorous Contribution

Best Personal Narrative

Best Coverage by Mainstream Publication (free entry)

Best Online and Social Media News and Features

Best Interview

Best Feature Article

Best Podcast

Best Single Podcast Episode

Best Tournament Report – National/International

Best Tournament Report – State/Local

Best News

Best Club Newsletter

Best Instruction Lesson

Best Analysis

Best Humorous Contribution

Best Historical Article

Best Personal Narrative

Best Overall Chess Website

*Best Overall Website Small Organization (website for group of less than 500)

Best Online Blog

Best Educational Lesson

Best Online Review

Best Non-Instructive Chess Video

Best Twitter Feed

Best Coverage by Mainstream Publication (free entry)

*Best Twitch Channel

*Best Instagram Feed


Junior (Under 20)

Best Print Article by a Junior

Best Online Article by a Junior

Best Personal Narrative by a Junior

Special Achievement

Cramer Awards

Best State Championship Report

Best State Tournament Coverage

Best Scholastic Coverage in State

Best Overall State Website

Best State Magazine/Newsletter – Print

Best State Magazine/Newsletter – Online

Best Photography

Best State Chapter Website

The Chess Journalists of America once again sends out a call for nominations for the annual Chess Journalists of America (CJA) awards. The CJA awards recognize the best in all facets of chess journalism, both print and online. The best chess articles, columns, photojournalism, layout, and online writing are honored within their respective categories. Recognized annually by their peers, the public, and members of CJA, the prestigious awards showcase American works published in English between June 1, 2020 to May 31, 2021.

CJA is a not-for-profit organization that encourages and promotes chess journalism. Membership is open to everyone at an annual membership fee of $10 (foreign membership is $15 per year). Award winners will be presented with online certificates that can be printed or copied and will be acknowledged in CJA’s newsletter, The Chess Journalist, as well as a permanent listing on the CJA website and social media. CJA’s Annual chess journalism awards are open to anyone. There is an entry fee of $15 for the first entry (this includes membership or renewal to CJA) and an $8 fee for each subsequent entry.  State organizations may enter two entries in the Cramer Awards for free.  Additional award details can be found online at http://chessjournalism.org. Interested parties can also contact CJA Awards Committee Chairman Joshua Anderson at joshuamiltonanderson@gmail.com.

Our CJA president Joshua Anderson will announce the awards first at the annual CJA meeting (during the U.S. Open), followed shortly by a complete listing on the CJA website.