Site Index

Home Page
Member List
Join CJA

Code of Ethics

The Journal

CJA Awards Index

Annual CJA Meetings


2017 Chess Journalists of America
Journalism Awards Program

Edit-- Effective immediately: Entry time for the 2017 CJA Awards will be extended one week, until June 22, 2017.

The Chess Journalists of America once again sends out a call for nominations to our Annual Chess Journalists of America (CJA) chess journalism awards. The CJA awards recognize the best in all facets of chess journalism, print and online. The best chess articles, columns, photojournalism, layout, and online writing are honored within their respective categories. Recognized annually by their peers, the public, and members of CJA, the prestigious awards showcase American works published in English between June 1, 2016 and May 31, 2017.

CJA is a not-for-profit organization that encourages and promotes chess journalism. Membership is open to everyone at an annual membership fee of $10 (foreign membership is $15 per year). Award winners will be presented with online certificates which can be printed or copied and will be acknowledged in CJA's newsletter, The Chess Journalist, as well as a permanent listing on the CJA website. CJA's Annual chess journalism awards are open to anyone. There is an entry fee of $15 for the first entry (this includes membership or renewal to CJA) and an $8 fee for each subsequent entry. CJA is online at, and provides additional information on submitting entries. Interested parties can also contact CJA Awards Committee Chairman Joshua Anderson at Our CJA president Joshua Anderson will announce the awards first at the annual CJA meeting (during the U.S. Open), followed shortly by a complete listing on the CJA website.

Submissions must be made by June 15, 2017. Submissions (except the book category) are to be made electronically to the awards chairman via email. Please include where entry was published, category entry should be placed in, date published, and who should receive the award. Submissions can be paid for via PayPal or with a check made out to CJA and sent to CJA Awards c/o Joshua Anderson.

Joshua M. Anderson
206 Locust Lane
Exton, PA 19341


The list of categories is as follows:

Best Story of the Year
Best Chess Column
Best State Magazine/Newsletter
Chess Journalist of the Year

Best Book: Chess play (paper copy), six copies required
Best Book: Other (paper copy), six copies required
Best Electronic Book

Best Photojournalism
Best Single Photo
Best Chess Art
Best Chess Magazine/Newsletter Layout

Best Regular Newspaper Column
Best Regular Newspaper Article of Local Interest

Separate awards for online/print in each of the following categories:
Best Historical Article
Best Interview
Best Features Article
Best Tournament Report - Local/Regional
Best Tournament Report - National/International
Best Instructive Lesson
Best Humorous Contribution
Best Review
Best Club Newsletter/Magazine
Best Single Club Publication
Best Article in Mainstream Publication (One free entry to anyone)
Best Analysis

The following categories are open only to online journalist and their websites.

Best US Chess State Chapter Website
Best General Chess Website
Best Chess Blog

This Page Last Updated on 21 May 2016

Contact Webmaster
Hits since 21 May 2016: pr160521