Site Index

Home Page
Member List
Join CJA

Code of Ethics

The Journal

CJA Awards Index

Annual CJA Meetings


2015 Chess Journalists of America
Journalism Awards Program

Thank you for visiting this page.  The instructions for submitting an entry is as follows:  Email the pdf of your submission to  Please specify what you are submitting and which entry the category is for.  If you cannot create a pdf, please email and I will help you.  If your item is online, you do not have to send me a pdf, just a link, but make sure that the link will be up through the middle of August. 

The entry fee is $15 for the first entry ($25 for a book entry) and $8 for each additional entry.  Your first entry also entitles you to a full year’s membership in the Chess Journalist’s of America (CJA) which includes a subscription to the periodical The Chess Journalist. The entry fee should be made out to "CJA".  The entry fee (or books) should be sent to:

Joshua M. Anderson
206 Locust Lane
Exton, PA 19341

If you wish to pay by paypal, it is quicker and easier, you may send payment to For those who wish, you may go to and use the shopping cart feature to buy your entries.

If a publishing house wishes to send books directly to judges, please contact me for the addresses of the individual judges.  So as to avoid potential conflicts of interest, judges are not picked until all books are entered.

Please note that one example is needed for most awards.  However, best column categories need two examples (Note: This is a change from previous years), and Best State Newsletter/Magazine needs a full year as different magazines are distributed on a different schedule.

You may now submit anyone for Journalist of the Year and you may do so for free.  Please submit copies of the journalist's work, a short biographical sketch, and why you believe the person should be named Chess Journalist of the Year.

Entries must have been published between June 1st, 2014 and May 31st, 2015.

Once you have submitted your entry, which needs to be done by June 15th, please check the entries received page on the CJA web site between June 17th and June 20th.

CJA Awards will be accepting entries until June 22nd, 2015

   Chess Journalist of the Year
   Best Story of the Year
   Best Chess Column (2 examples)
   Best State Magazine/Newsletter (full year required)
   Best Book (paper-printed only, six copies required)

   Best Chess Magazine/Newsletter Layout
   Best Chess Photojournalism
   Best Chess Art

   Best Regular Newspaper Column (2 examples)
   Best Regular Newspaper Article of Local Interest

The following categories are open to journalist and publications both in print and those found online.

   Best Tournament Report Article
   Best Features Article
   Best Instructive Lesson
   Best Review
   Best Humorous Contribution
   Best Historical Article
   Best Interview
   Best Analysis

The following categories are open only to online journalist and their websites.

   Best [USCF] State Chapter Website
   Best General Chess Website
   Best Chess Blog

This Page Last Updated on 14 June 2015

Contact Webmaster
18 May 2015: pr150518